Student Council Investiture Report

The overall development of students is marked not only by their academic success but also through their active participation in extra-curricular activities. Keeping this in mind, the Government College of Arts, Science and Commerce inaugurated the Student Council for the new academic year 2019-2020. The theme for the event was "Atmadeep- Bhava" which may be translated as 'self enlightenment'. The true meaning behind this was to get inspired before inspiring others.

The investiture ceremony was compered by Mr. Gaurang Naik and the event was opened by the Principal, Dr. Purnakala Samant as she spoke to the students gathered about Resilience and the capacity to bounce back. The Vice-Principal of the institute, Dr. Christina D Souza welcomed the gathering and motivated the students through her speech.

The Chief Guest for this event was Dr. Priyanka Sahsarabhojanee, a Psychiatrist by profession who has a vision to create awareness on mental health among youth for which she is working hard. Following her introduction by Ms. Ridhima Shirodkar, the investiture ceremony began where the council members took the front stage. The members included the General Secretary, Cultural Secretary, Sports Secretary, Ladies Representatives the Class Representatives of each class. The Principal then came forward to assist the student members take their oath.

The General Secretary for the year elected is Mr. Myron Pereira; Cultural Secretary- Mr. Secretary- Mr.Rudresh Naik and Ladies Representative- Ms. Preeti Gaonkar.

The following are the Class Representatives for the classes:

FYBA (A) Joslin Afonso, FYBA (B) Vaishnavi Khanolkar, SYBA (A) Tanay Natekar, SYBA (B) Lilavati Papathi, TYBA Sonal Sawant, FYBSC (A) Sumer Dhavjekar, FYBSC (B) Ganesh Kattimani, SYBSC (A) Vaishnavi Chari,, SYBSC (B) Suyog Chari, TYBSC Ayman Khan, FYBCOM (A) Mahesh Naik, FYBCOM (B) Roselle Rodrigues, SYBCOM (A) Parshram Kharujkar SYBCOM(B) Srushti Naik, TYBCOM (A) Nikita Mandrekar, TYBCOM (B) Anuja Deshpande.

The oath taking was followed by the council members lighting the lamp to understand the theme of the event. The college magazine *Mahashala* was unveiled in the hands of the Chief Guest as well as members on the dais in the presence of the Magazine in charge, Dr. Radhamani Divakar.

The function then continued with the Student Council Coordinator, Mrs. Asha Gahloth addressing the students as she explained the relevance of the theme to the audience. This was followed by the Chief Guests speech where Dr, Priyanka was able to reach the audience and motivate them to inspire themselves as they lead the institute.

As the ceremony came to a close, the last year council members were felicitated and the Vote of Thanks was proposed by the current General Secretary, Mr. Myron Pereira.